h1

Monday Musings

February 1, 2010

I’m working on this being a more positive week than last week. My ankles slowly getting better but its still weak and very painful especially after turning it again this morning.

The weather in my neck of the woods:

Freezing cold. There is snow forecast for tomorrow. and we had a very hard frost on Saturday. There was snow up on the dales and the clouds look snowy grey althought theres nice patches of sunshine getting through.

Some of my simple pleasures:

Starting a new journal today. I started my older one last August and its been an absolute life line, and helped me stay sane, especially in the last few months with the M.E. diagnosis. Somewhere private to note down those hopes,dreams, fears and misgivings, to note the major events of the year and too provide me with an aide-memoire when my brain lets me down.

On my bedside table:

A tattered old fantasy book called Jeralyne about how elves don’t have it as easy as we think they do and what happens when their society is rocked by dark secrets coming out. I bought it about 10 years ago when I was having a terrible (shoplifters) and slow (3 customers all day slow) day at work and it comes out occasionally when I get the need to read it again.

That and I’m running out of books to read…again.

On my TV:

West Wing. Its like being surrounded by really smart friends…Apart from Josh. He’s sometimes a doofus.

On my Mp3 Player:

Ruby Blue, 3 Daft Monkeys, and Emilie Autumn. My regular playlist.

Am still lusting after Seth Lakeman though.

On the menu for tonight:

Sausage and Mash at the special request of the boy.

On my To Do List:

More work on the blanket. Till I work on my bloomers for the Ravelympics this is the main project around here.

Done from last weeks To Do List:
Finish my tax return. Done. Dusted. Submitted. Stress over for a bit longer.
More work on my blanket. I’ve completed a couple more hexagons and looked into best ways to block the yarn etc.
Finish my belt bag. All the pieces are knit and blocked and just need sewing together.

New Recipe I tried last week:

A jamie oliver recipe for pasta with crispy herbed breadcrumbs which didn’t turn out the way its described in the cookbook, but will give it a second try. the idea is to add crunch and flavour but it also added lemon juice to the pasta which made the breadcrumbs soggy.

New Recipe I’m thinking of trying next week:

Still planning to try making Pan Haggerty. Pan Haggerty from the Hairy Bikers new show and the sweetcorn fritters from the first show.

Looking forward to:

Knitting group tonight and civilised conversation and giggling with my ladies.

Lesson learned the past few days:

No one likes doing tax returns, but they are a necessary evil.

Leave a Reply

