h1

Monday Musings

January 25, 2010

I didn’t have a good week.

On top of my ongoing health issues, midweek while standing up normally, I turned my ankle badly and haven’t been able to put much weight on it since. I’ve been doing a pretty good job of hobbling about(I’m well practiced with the stick from previous issues), but stairs are posing a real issue at the moment.

The weather in my neck of the woods:

Wintry and grey, inhospitable and cold. Typical British January weather. I’m looking forward to spring. I’m even looking forward to the rain, and the flowers and leaves coming back.

Some of my simple pleasures:

Knitting, and chocolate. Incredibly simple pleasures but they are pleasing me at the moment.

On my bedside table:

My Mp3 player and some ibuprofen gel. No book at the moment surprisingly. I’ve been listening to audiobooks at bedtime.
I’m almost finished listening to Memory and Dreams,with only an hour or so left to listen to. Its a lot darker than some of his other books, but I’m enjoying it.

On my TV:

I’ve been watching Supernatural. A friend lent me the disks. Pretty boys and supernatural things, and so far, not an over reliance on vampires.

On my Mp3 Player:

Muse: the fella adores them and I am starting to get a taste for them too.

I’m looking forward to getting some Seth Lakeman at some point soon.

On the menu for tonight:

Probably what I’ve got left in the freezer and cupboard. Rice pudding with a side dish of pizza, anyone?

On my To Do List:

Finish my blooming tax return. Stupid forms!
More work on my blanket.
Finish my belt bag.
Get my ankle better so I can walk on it without my walking stick.

Done from last weeks To Do List:
Work on my blanket. A couple more done.
Work on my socks; The toe socks are at the point where the toes need knitting.
Do some writing. I’ve been working on it.

New Recipe I tried last week:

Haven’t been very good on the homecooking front this last week or so.

New Recipe I’m thinking of trying next week:

Pan Haggerty from the Hairy Bikers new show. Its a sort of layered potato, onion,carrot, cheese,and bacon dish baked and then grilled so it gets a crusty top, and the middle is lovely and soft. Its a much better version of potato gratin.

I will however not be cooking it in the rain on top of the moors, like the bikers.

Looking forward to:

Being able to walk without the stick again.
Getting to knitting group again. I had to miss it last week and I’m going to miss it this week too.

Lesson learned the past few days:

That I can twist my ankle by losing my balance for no apparent reason. Yes, I am apparently really so incredibly clumsy that I can fall off the floor.

Leave a Reply

