h1

Midweek Musings

January 13, 2010

I had this post all planned out for Monday, but I had to chose between going to knitting group or blogging and so, I decided to take the much needed trip out of the house to knitting group. I’m not having a particularly good time healthwise at the moment, so I spent most of yesterday asleep so I haven’t got to this till today.

The weather in my neck of the woods:

Bitterly cold, but its finally stopped snowing here, and is thawing. The snow and ice is still lying on the ground though and its still very much wrapping up warm weather. My poor hands are hurting so much because of the cold.

Some of my simple pleasures:

  • Seeing the girls at Knitting Group
  • Getting the basic figures for my tax return done.
  • Getting a letter from a friend.

On my bedside table:

The Suspicions of Mr Whicher by Kate Summerscale

the-suspicions-of-mr-whicher

Its incredibly interesting, being an account of a real case, and it has the additional attraction that I know the area in the book.

Trowbridge in Wiltshire; where the case is found, is the town nearest to the boatyard where my aunt keeps her narrowboat and we explored the area a couple of times.

On my TV:

Am rather enjoying the new series of Hustle, Lark Rise to Candleford, Heroes, Silent Witness, and Numbers that are on at the moment, and am watching Criminal Minds via Virgin1’s repeating it from the beginning.

On my Mp3 Player:

Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett – Audio book; An Abney Park album,a whole mix of singles, Emilie Autumn, 3 Daft Monkeys, The Bangles, Ezio, Dar Williams and the audio books I already had on there.

On the menu for tonight:

It’s going to involve chicken and potato, with veggies, but I’m not sure what its actually going to be…

On my To Do List:

  • Get rid of this non specific lurgy I have.
  • Finish my accounts.
  • Work on my blanket.

Done from last weeks To Do List:

I didn’t make one last week so starting fresh with this one.

New Recipe I tried last week:

Again, I didn’t try one last week.

New Recipe I’m thinking of trying next week:

Hmm, either one from the boys new cookbook or from the Hairy Bikers new series.

In the craft basket:

All the projects that need working on other than my bloomers as they are now offically reserved for the Ravelympics.

Looking forward to:

Hopefully seeing a friend or two at the end of the month.

Favorite photo from last week:

DSCF3704

This one I’ve taken of my teapot cosy.

I made this badly needed teacosy over the weekend just gone.
I’ve loved the Tea mitten pattern since I first saw it and I modified it slightly. I knitted it on 3mm needles rather than 3.5 as I don’t have any 3.5mm, and I worked the pattern as written with black dk acrylic and a strand of my beloved glow sock yarn.

I followed the pattern as written using smaller needles and it was still slightly on the large side, so I am guessing my teapot is smaller than hers.

The buttons are from my button stash and were three I was saving for a special project 🙂

Favourite blog post from the last week:

This one from the scent of water:

inspiration journal

Its all about keeping inspiration journal, which is something I’ve done since art college but how the inspiring pictures are covering negative thoughts. A rather nice idea I think.

Lesson learned the past few days:

That extreme tiredness is a sign of my not being as well as I think I am.

TTFN!

Leave a Reply

