h1

A work in progress review – Jan 09

January 10, 2010

I’ve been busy taking photos, as promised last week and ready to show you all what I’ve been making.

Glow Yarn set

Back in November I fell in love with some yarn. Its called Trekking Maxima 908 – Glow.

It has 3 strands of black/charcoal and and one of a changing colourway; yellow, to rust/orange, to red/magenta, back to rust/orange, and into yellow again.

It makes me think of campfires, of flickering embers in the dark, of nights perched on logs around a fire with friends, drinking wine and mead. The laughing and joking, of autumn nights and autumn leaves, of warmth and comfort, of coal fires on winter mornings and of cosy evenings. It makes me think of wood burning stoves, of camping, and of fire gazing.

Yes, I am having a serious love affair with this yarn, and want to get more of it if I can.

I wanted to make myself a set of beret, fingerless mitts and a cowl and I scoured the Ravelry database to look for patterns.

I actually knitted swatches for this (don’t faint all at once!) and decided that this yarn is perfect for using with garter stitch, and garter stitch has a such a smooshy depth to it, so I went back to Ravelry and searched for patterns using that lovely, beautiful, textural stitch.

Mitts

DSCF3692

These are based on the Cratchit mitts pattern, and are currently temporarily sewn up using a whip stitch till I find the best method for stitching them up. I had ideas about crocheting the sides up, but my skills aren’t advanced enough yet to do it without making it look very messy.

Cowl

DSCF3698

This is based on the Scarf Cowl pattern, working in sock yarn rather than lace weight, and adjusting the length slightly to attempt to make the stripes match up as well as possible. Instead of winding it twice around my head I have taken to work it with the front folded somewhat like an ascot and then pinned with a brooch, which makes it lie comfortably underneath the collar of my coat, which is always a bonus! Again with this I’ve had some finishing problems and need to fix how its sewn up, but the cold snap meant I needed to be able to wear it, so I made do with what I had to hand.

Beret

DSCF3695

This is based on the Build a Beret formula, and I had to work out all the sums to convert it to sock yarn, making adjustments as I went, to produce a beret that actually worked the way I wanted it too. Its lovely and comfortable, and didn’t need blocking.

Toe Socks

DSCF3686

They may look like ordinary socks at the moment, but when they get down to the toe they will have exactly that; toes. They will be properly fitted to my slightly odd toes – too many years of wearing badly fitting shoes – using the instructions in The Twisted Sister Workbook for Piggy Toe Socks.

The yarn is more Trekking XXL; the sock yarn that seems to be my favourite. Its more like ember and ashes, rather than campfires but its as beautiful as it is in the photo.

Belt Bag

belt bag

I fell in love with this pattern the minute I saw it, and tracked it down. The example above is by Ravelry user Asti, and is the best picture I’ve found of the completed bag.

I’m making mine on 3mm needles using black acrylic DK to create a nice dense fabric. I’ve made the first of the two sides, so still have another side, and all the pockets to make, and buttons and a zip to buy.

DSCF3691

I got a nice new belt for Christmas and am looking forward to wearing it on it! I have a vague deadline on this one, but more about this another day.

Tea Cosy

With the last few days being so bitterly cold, keeping drinks warm has been heavy on my mind since Friday and I’ve been working very hard on a tea cosy, using the Tea Mitten pattern.

teamitten

I’ve been using more black acrylic DK and a strand of my Glow Trekking Maxima along with it to produce some beautiful fabric to help insulate my beloved Brown Betty Denby Teapot.

DSCF3683

Its almost finished already, and I’ll show it too you soon. Am seriously tempted to make myself a matching mug cosy to go on the rather good mug that Tsuki gave me for Xmas.

knitted mug

Blanket

As I mentioned midweek, I’d made 75 of the 179 hexagons.

DSCF3703

Well, I’ve added a couple of that total, but I got distracted by nerfarious teacosies! I’ll get back to it during the week and then I’ll hit that halfway mark before the end of the month. I definitely want it ready if next winters going to be anything like this one.

Oh and that’s Norman the Gnome, faithfully guarding the hexagons I’ve made so far. The gnome I mentioned making before the new year is to the same pattern and is going to be a companion for Norman. Norman was made by the fella’s sister for us and it must be lonely being the only gnome in the house!

Bloomers

I forgot to snap an in progress picture of these but they are on hold till the The Ravelympics/Winter Olympics in February so shall focus on them then.

As I mentioned a couple of posts ago this project stalled sometime ago, as knitting for birthdays and Christmas became more pressing.

Well, thats everything actually on the needles at the moment; I’ll keep posting pictures, as often as I remember to take them and try and do a monthly catchup to show whats happening currently with everything I’m working on.

So, what do you think?

Leave a Reply

