h1

Monday Musings

December 7, 2009

The weather in my neck of the woods:

Chilled. But its December so what do I expect? I’ve been keeping warm, and knitting things to help keep me warm too.

Some of my simple pleasures:

Friends. I remade contact with a very good friend this week; we’d both ended up in odd places and had lost contact – changes of email etc -and shes like a light come into my life. Its so very good to have her back.

On my bedside table:

My phone, tablets and a bottle of water. Have been too tired the last couple of days to read before sleep  so for the first time in a long time, there isn’t a book on my bedside table…plus I need new books..

On my TV:

Firefly mostly. The fella was out with his pals at Rock City in Nottingham at the weekend so I had my film evening, but it turned into a Firefly Marathon instead, but knitting was done, chocolates were eaten and relaxing happened.

On my Mp3 Player:

3 Daft Monkeys and Emilie Autumn. They are just about keeping me going at the moment.

I want some Abney Park albums to put on there….

On the menu for tonight:

Takeaway as I am DETERMINED to make it to knitting group for the second week running.

On my To Do List.

  • Take some project photos
  • Write some letters.
  • Iron patchwork fabric.
  • Find where my 3mm DPN’s have got to…have I lent them to anyone?
  • See the doctor yet again.

Done from last weeks To Do List:

Make some more hexagons – 2.5 made
Print and Cut Out paper hexagons.

New Recipe I tried last week:

Slow Cooked Garlic – delicious. Slow cooked in wine. Goes sweet and soft. Got rather lost in the rest of the ingredients suggested so just going to use it on its own next time.

Irish Stew – Not as nice as it could have been…you could barely taste the lamb in it and as I had used good meat it was a shame.

New Recipe I’m trying this week:

This week is a week of ordinary meals; tried and tested recipes. The pre xmas rush is upon us and therefore no added complications is essential.

In the craft basket:

  • The socks are still there – toe socks made with two sets of needles from opposite ends of the ball.
  • The mitts I am working on – photos soon
  • Hexagon knitting – ever present
  • Bloomers – body still not finished…
  • Yarn waiting to be made into something in particular…
  • Hexagon papers to cut out for quilting.

Yeah. I need to get on with some of that don’t I….

Looking forward to:

Getting the Christmas presents sorted out so I can relax.

Favorite photo from last week:


This one from Knitting Iris. I don’t know why. It just appeals to me. It may be the owl mug…or the honey, and the pomegranate in the background or the light. I’m not sure. It just appeals.

Favourite blog post from the last week:

Belgian Waffle. Her humour amuses me.

Lesson learned the past few days:

That if you stop doing things you start to lose the skills. I was watching a program last night about Kit Williams and realized I don’t even have a sketchbook in the house at the moment, and I haven’t drawn properly in…several months,  if not over a year. As someone who spent her entire teens working towards being an artist thats scary and somewhat worrying…

Acquisition of a sketchbook is being worked on….I didn’t study for all those years to lose these skills, dammit!

TTFN!

Leave a Reply

