h1

For one week only, Tuesday Musings

December 1, 2009

The weather in my neck of the woods:

Cold, very very cold. It was so frosty last night that I had to wear socks and a jumper to bed…and today I am wrapped in blankets, and have a hot water bottle and a wheat bag.

Some of my simple pleasures:

My honey lip balm from my friend Debs company Scented Alchemy. The smell just makes me feel comforted and loved and it makes my lips feel lovely.

I cashed in my money box and bought myself a new winter cardigan – its long, chunky, its deep deep purple, it has a shawl collar,  and it has pockets 🙂

On my bedside table:

Robin Hobb’s The Ship of Destiny, part of a trilogy.

I’m slowly reading it, as its heavy and my hands ache at the moment.

On my TV:

Tonight I’ll be watching Paradox, which is an utterly ridiciulous show, about detectives solving things that are yet to happen after getting photos from the future via a astrophysics lab.Its just so out there, I can’t not watch. It is a serious suspending your disbelief show though.

On my Mp3 Player:

I seem addicted to audio books at the moment and I have The Onion Girl by Charles De Lint on there at the moment. I am a member at Audible and get one download credit a month.

He’s a Canadian writer who is credited with popularizing the gender of urban fantasy – that is fantasy set in a modern(ish) urban environment. I’m particularly enjoying a series set around a particular imaginary city called Newford and wish more of his books are available as audiobooks, or in the UK.

On the menu for tonight:

Hoisin Duck Pancakes from the supermarket. I am making all other dinners for the rest of this week from scratch so I can get away with a couple of nights of ready meals.

On my To Do List.
Make some more hexagons.
Iron patchwork fabric.
Print and Cut Out paper hexagons.
Take some photos for the blog.
Make my xmas present to myself.

Done from last weeks To Do List:

Work on my rag doll – I’ve finished her hair!
A couple more hexagons made.

New Recipe I tried last week:

That salad I was talking about a few weeks back? Well, I made some and it was a success. Bulgar Wheat, Pomegranate seeds, and the piece de resistance; slow cooked butternut squash braised in thyme and apple juice based on this recipe here.

1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted
1 cup apple juice – I used pressed apple juice
2 teaspoons dried thyme
4 cups 1-inch chunks peeled and seeded butternut squash

Combine all ingredients in the insert of the  slow cooker.  Cover and cook on high for 2 – 3 hours until the squash is tender.

The orginal recipe contained added sugar but I left it out again. It really didn’t need any additional sweetness.

I used the apple juice it had been cooked in, with all its scented wonderfulness to cook my bulgar wheat in. YUM!

Will be making it again at the weekend.

New Recipe I’m trying this week:

I’m trying a couple; Slow cooked garlic and herb pasta, and Irish Stew, both from a cookbook the fella bought me a couple of months ago.

In the craft basket:
Start some socks for myself – I’m making some toe socks! I’m even doing the two socks at once method; 2 sets of DPN’s and making two cuffs, making two legs, 2 heels and so on. I’ve got them done as far as the legs at the moment.
Hexagon papers to cut out for quilting.

Looking forward to:

Having a decadent film evening on Saturday while the boy is out with his mates. Am thinking a musical (possibly Rent) ,Little Women, and Young Victoria, some knitting, a duvet, a box of chocolates,  a pot of tea or two, slippers, pyjamas and an unplugged phone.

Favorite photo from last week:

This one from Farmgirl Fare – Donkeys Daphne and Fernando with an empty treat bucket. I just love the look they are giving the camera “Why are you taking our picture when you should be filling this bucket, hmm? Well?”

Favourite blog post from the last week:

Posy has been on a trip to York. Lovely pictures.

Lesson learned the past few days
That fairy lights really can make a place feel warmer and cozy, especially on a Christmas tree.

TTFN!

Leave a Reply

