h1

Monday Musings

November 16, 2009

The weather in my neck of the woods:

Wet, and cold,. There has been much rain this morning, and if the weather people are to be believed, more to come this week.

One of my simple pleasures:

The softness of my blankets and the warmth of my wheatbag.

On my bedside table:

I’m still reading Court of The Air by Stephen Hunt. I’m working through it as energy allows and am really enjoying it. It has wonderful edges of steampunk, penny dreadfuls and daring adventures. Perfect escapism.

And I’ve just discovered he’s written  more books! Oh me, oh my!

On my TV:

Last night, it was Dr Who; The Waters of Mars. I make no attempt to hide the fact that I am a huge Dr Who fan and I am sadly watching the run up to the leaving of my favourite of the modern Doctors, but I am interested in seeing where they go with the New doctor.

We watch a lot of vintage Who in this household and I find Peter Davidson’s oddly comforting, Sylvester McCoy’s amusing, and Tom Baker’s is just great.

On the menu for tonight:

Garlic Crumb Chicken with Lemon and Coriander Couscous, Peas and Carrots.

On my To Do List:

Get blood test results.
Make some more hexagons.
Iron patchwork fabric.
Take some photos for the blog.

Done from last weeks To Do List:

Make some hexagons towards the blanket.
Work on my rag doll. I’ve neglected her too long.
Get better.

New Recipe I tried last week:

None this week. Its been a getting from day to day week.

New Recipe I’m trying this week:

Last week, in one of my foraging trips to my little street of shops, I went to the amazing little deli we have The Good Food Shop and bought some Bulgar Wheat with Butternut Squash and Pomegranate. I’ve never tasted anything like it. It was amazing; nutty bulgar wheat, butternut squash that was cooked to perfection – cooked through, but still maintaining its texture and the amazing and unique flavour of the juicy little pomegranate seeds/kernels…what do you call them?!

I want to try and make some myself ๐Ÿ™‚

In the craft basket:

Hexagons, hexagons, and more hexagons.

Knitted ones. 2 more to go and thats 60 done ๐Ÿ™‚ Only another 100 or so to go after that! More on that tomorrow ๐Ÿ™‚

Paper ones to cut out for patchwork. I had to rip out all the ones I’d already done as most of them weren’t true hexagons, and then I can restart once I’ve ironed all the little squares of fabric.

Looking forward to:

Getting my blood test results back.

Favorite photo from last week:

posygetscozycoycrochet

This one from Posie Gets Cozy. Shes one of the blogs I read regularly.

I just love the colours, and intricate but still simple texture of the crocheted motif.

Favourite blog post from the last week:

Farmgirl Fare posts a weekly dose of cute and this Sunday posted an extreme dose of cute ; A new born donkey.

I’ve loved donkeys for years. They have such personality. Go look. It really is adorable.

Lesson learned the past few days

I’ve learnt two:

Blood tests can give bad bruises – I forget everytime. This time, she was digging around for a vein so have a huge bruise.

That if I want to learn crochet I need proper lessons; saving up has commenced.

TTFN!

2 comments

  1. I’ll teach you to crochet! Well, I can teach you the basics anyway (chain, single, double, half-double and treble American stitches, I haven’t learned front and back post yet!) and how to make a granny square (easy).
    If you like.
    When you’re up to it ๐Ÿ™‚


    • Woohoo!

      You’re on!



Leave a Reply

