h1

Monday Musings

October 19, 2009

The weather in my neck of the woods:
We seem to have entered the grey part of the autumn. The sky has been grey for several days and its been half heartedly raining now and then.

One of my simple pleasures:
the crisp new pages of my favourite magazine and a cup of hot chocolate.

On my bedside table:
Still White Crow by Mary Gentle; These are very big books and even with my normal speed reading abilites in the short time I read before sleep they take a while to get through. There is also a notebook, a pen, a variety of painkillers and and some vapour rub…

On my TV:
Tonight: Flashforward which I’m really enjoying and it will be interesting to see where they take it, and I find the idea of someone trying to affect the world’s collective conciousness on mass very interesting and mildly scary; True Blood for similar reasons – I want to see where they take it; Star Trek repeats on Virgin1 because I’m an unashamed Star Trek Fan(I am in order a fan of: TNG, DS9, Voyager, Classic and then Enterprise)  and maybe some B5 or West Wing.

On the menu for tonight:
Something soft. My throat hurts. Possibly Spinach and Ricotta Cannaloni. Storebought probably. I don’t feel up to cooking.

On my To Do List:
Make myself and a friend warm winter hat, neckwarmer and mitts; although as shes in Canada where they can get temps of -10 to -15C so I may make hers first!
Get through this week.
Make sure the fella has a nice birthday.

Done from last weeks To Do List:
THE SOCK IS FINISHED!!!!

New Recipe I tried last week:
I tried two. Gingered Squash and Pear Soup and Autumn Sausage Casserole. Both were delicous and I combined the left overs for lunch on Friday and that was also delicious!

New Recipe I’m trying this week:
Something out of the slow cooking cookbook the boy bought me recently. I’m also slightly obsessed with the thought of making some chewy raisin oatmeal cookies at the moment.

In the craft basket:
I want to do some sewing on my doll at some point and just get back into the crafting groove again.

Looking forward to:
This week being over. This week is looking to be very busy and I’m still unwell. The thought of curling up under the duvet with a book and melting into the world of a book for a while is keeping me going.

Favorite photo from last week:
This one from Ornamental.

socksandleaves

She makes the most beautiful jewelery that I may hope to be able to afford one day. She was recently burgled and it must have been awful for her.This photo just made me smile; its the brightly coloured leaves against the wet floor and the stripy socks. It just gives me hope.

Favourite blog post from the last week:
This one, at Tiny Happy. I’ve followed her blog for at least 2 maybe 3 years I think…So long, I can’t remember when I started, at least and she makes beautiful things using recycled and lovely textiles and this post is about the reading corner she has created for her kids and at some level this is the kind of reading corner I want, with big pillows, a bookcase or two and a small table for a tea tray.

Ooh and you want to go and look at the quilt in this one..its beautiful.

Lesson learned the past few days:
That with good kind friends tough times can be made a lot easier and that poisonous people aren’t worth your energy..

(Posted from phone hence odd formating; will fix when I’m on a PC)

TTFN

One comment

  1. Feel better soon. I also enjoy crisp new magazines and hot cup of cocoa.



Leave a Reply

