h1

Foody Friday

October 16, 2009

image

Blogging seems to be easier for me at day intervals and it gives it a routine so I am starting my own Foody Friday over here at Purplestocking HQ.

On Wednesday I cooked the rather lovely Autumn Sausage Casserole from A Year of Slow Cooking ( I LOVE this blog!)

I made a few changes to the recipe, using good quality pork sausages and omitting the brown sugar as I think it will be sweet enough with apple, carrot and sultanas (instead of raisins) in it. Its an American website so the recipe using cups, but as long as you use the same cup to measure things its fine, and I happen to own an American measuring cup.

1 lb sausages, cut into chunks and browned and drained of excess fat.(a pack of 8 sausages is about right)
2 apples, chopped
1 onion, chopped
1/2 cup carrot, chopped (about one medium sized carrot)
3 cups precooked long-grain rice
1/2 cup sultanas
1 tsp dried parsley
1/2 tsp allspice
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp black pepper( I have a mill so I just did a few twists)
1/3 cup water.
Put all your ingredients in the crockpot and stir well. Cook on low for 5 to 7 hours or high to 3-4

It smelt lovely as it went into the pot and already looked autumnal. (Photo taken precooking.) I cooked it for 5 hours and was a gorgeous spicy caramelised brown colour when its cooked. The fella had extra for tea and “reserved” the rest for his pack up lunch!

When I went to our lovely local greengrocers,  Millies, to pick up the apples and fresh carrots for the Autumn Sausage Casserole they had a big basket of locally grown Butternut Squashes so I bought three small ones and also tried out this recipe;

Gingered Squash and Pear Soup which I found at Jo’s Second Act. I’m lusting after her autumnal table runner in the photo over there!

INGREDIENTS
1 chopped onion
1 Tbsp grated ginger
1 large butternut squash
2 ripe pears
4 cups low fat low salt chicken broth
Salt and pepper (to taste)

Cook off the onion and ginger with a little oil until onion is tender and transfer it to the crock pot. Puncture the butternut squash skin and microwave for a minute to soften the skin and then peel and chop into 1 inch chunks. Peel, core and chop the pears and add those to the crock-pot. Add the chicken stock and salt and pepper to taste. Cook until the pears and squash is tender. Cool slightly, then purée until smooth.

This soup is GORGEOUS, and I served it up with fresh baked crusty rolls and butter…though I cheated in the bread department; some of those half baked rolls from the supermarket that you finish off in the oven. I cooked it for about 2 hours on high. Make sure you remember to fit the lid on the blender properly though…guess how I know…

The rest got portioned up and frozen for future lunches.

Enjoy cooking these, and tell me what you thought!

Leave a Reply

