h1

Foody Thursday

October 8, 2009

I used my shiny new slow cooker for the first time on Tuesday. I used one of the recipes produced by CrockPot in one of the manuals available; I made Lemon Herb Roasted Chicken.

The beautiful smell of this cooking filled the house, rich and comforting, which was wonderful as having seen the doctor on Tuesday Morning I found out that my lungs are playing up and it will take at least 2 weeks before I’ll be able to take a deep breath without choking and coughing again.

Lemon Herb Roast Chicken
1 2-3 lb roasting chicken
1/2 cup chopped onion
1 tbsp butter, softened
Juice of 1 lemon
1/2 tsp salt
1 tbsp frsh parsley
1/4 tsp dried thyme
1/4 tsp paprika

Place the onion in the cavity of the chicken and rub the softened butter into the the skin. Place it in the slow cooker.
Squeeze the lemon juice over the chicken and sprinkle the herbs and seasoning over it. Cover it and cook it on Low for 8-10 hours or High for 4-5 hours.

I cooked it for 8 hours on low and it was moist and delicious with a very delicate flavour. I served it with Lemon and Coriander couscous. Next time I would put more lemon juice in, but then, I like strong flavours. It could also be nice with garlic added.

I used a small free range chicken – just over a kilo in weight – and it literally cooked in its juices and produced nearly a pint of stock for use at a later date.

I wish I had taken a picture of it to show you!

I’m posting this up as a contribution to Slow Cooking Thursday but I’m gonna talk about food in general on Thursdays  I think.

Leave a Reply

