h1

WISPy Wednesday

October 7, 2009

I’m still ill so you would think I have lots done…well, I don’t…Between naps and just simply not having the energy to do anything I’ve done hardly anything.

Knitting:

DSCF3664

The first of Fella’s birthday socks is done and I unfortunately seem to have developed second sock syndrome. The boy has large feet and his socks always feel like a bit of a trek compared to mine.  I hope it isn’t also subconscious rebellion against Socktoberfest. That would be awful!

DSCF3665

Seriously though – The top sock is mine, the bottom is his…no wonder they take so long!

DSCF3661

I have made a mini sock – the idea is to make 2 dozen of them to be an advent calendar. The Fella and I find the prospect of an advent calender thats been sitting in the supermarket from the beginning of September particularly unattractive! It was fun and only took a couple of hours; great left over sock yarn project. If I knew of somewhere that sold mini skeins of sock yarn I might get some to make rainbow ones and black and purple striped ones and purple ones…

DSCF3663

I’ve also been making mini (half size) bunting by quesselchen which is a very cool pattern. She and some others, including Tsuki, made metres and metres of it for Jen of Fyberspates. I literally halved the size of the pattern and adjusted accordingly. Excuse the fact I haven’t woven in the ends yet! I only plan to make a metre or so worth to go on one of my bookshelves. I think it will be 10 or maybe 20 little flags.

I’ve reached the 50 hexagon landmark for my blanket…just another 100 or so to go *rolls eyes* I must be a masochist. I need to do some proper maths and work out exactly how many I need.

I haven’t done a single stitch on my bloomers or my industrial rose socklets but I may give myself an hour on each at some point soon, or allocate one as Formula 1 knitting – then they get the Saturday qualifying time and the Sunday race itself dedicated to them.

I think I’m gonna hibernate my sideways silky short socks for the time being.

Sewing:

I’ve primarily been working on sewing on my rag doll.

1234310206177

I’ve made the body and I am currently embroidering her hair – Hundreds of french knots. I’ve done approx half her head so far and am using one of my huge doll making needles to help with pulling it through. I’ve already embroidered her face; I’ve made her less stern than the origional.

DSCF3607

I do like the simple shape and I’ve decided to use brown rather than black to outline her features. Its softer. I will be giving her black Mary Jane style shoes and purple and black  stripy legs though – If I can’t wear purple stockings she may have to 😉 . Can’t decide whether to embroider or fabric paint them…i suppose I could even knit some!

I have some lawn I can make her undergarments out of and I’ll have to keep an eye out for a small enough print for her dress or a nice colour etc.

I’ve already had thoughts for more than one outfit.

Perhaps the fact I didn’t have dolls I could dress up as a child is finally affecting me! What do you think? Just what effect did my mother’s feminism and not wanting us to get affected by gender stereotypes have? Answers on a postcard please!

DSCF3666

I’ve also been working on some quilting hexagons using some upholstery  fabric samples I was given. Am mostly planning to make them into a cushion for my computer chair..

I’ve got some garments planned at the moment, but they are waiting for me to feel up to clearing enough space to cut out fabric. More on those next week if i get anywhere with them.

Other:

I finally got round to cutting out a decent number of card blanks for ATCS…Now I just have to find the time/energy to actually make some and stick the little envelopes I’ve made together too! I would show you a photo but you really don’t want to see lots of little card rectangles…

I’ve been really enjoying blogging again the last few days and I am going to attempt to stick to some sort of loose schedule from now on.

leaf roses

Ooh and if I felt up to it I’d be out collecting leaves to make these.Aren’t they wonderful?!

Leave a Reply

