h1

I’m back!

August 12, 2009

Obviously when I said in a few days I mean quite a few…

Well, I’ve been a busy little bee lately.

I’ve been buzzing around the country visiting family and friends and then when I got home I became self employed again which has taken time and I also have a couple of weeks work back at the museum.

So, when I’ve not been doing a headless chicken impression I’ve been knitting and doing housework…well, OK…more knitting than housework but am only human and knitting is more fun!

We have a set of eyelet shawl, mitts and beret in Araucania Ranco Multy 4 ply which I have called Industrial Rose as its shades of rose and tarnished, and smoke and soot, and so on. Of the three skeins I had these were got out of two! So, socks are currently being designed on the needles with copious note taking so I can work out how to make the second one.

I blocked this which was my first experience of doing so, and lacey knitting really does grow when you block it! After knitting and washing the Araucania Ranco Multy becomes deliciously soft and is lovely and warm.

And, as I am someone obsessed with making sets of the things we  have a set of garter beret, mitts and scarflet in my perfect purple yarn – Bilberry Country Style DK. With several tweaks I got this out of my only ball of the yarn with literally about 1 ft left!

We then have a pair of slippers I made for my mum in acrylic as she wore holes in the bfl socks I made her at Xmas due to wearing them constantly while on holiday in Spain. *rolls eyes*. They are from a finnish pattern and I worked them out via the diagram.

Finally, and yes, that is actually me, we have my Neaty Cardigan. I made it in Marble Chunky from Texere and its lovely yarn to work with. Its 100% acrylic and knits up so softly I am seriously considering stocking up on it.

Will post again soon, but right now, I need to get on with some work!

Leave a Reply

