h1

Smooshy Socks

May 6, 2009

I’m still off gallavanting in the wilds of Suffolk but I thought I would share with you this photo of the sock I’m working on.

I’m using the fancy ribbing from the Twisted Sisters Sock Workbook which involves lifting the central stitch of the knit section of the 3×2 rib on alternate rows to give a enlongated stitch in the middle of each knit panel. It makes the ribbing very plush and smooshy.

I also used the tulip edging from the workbook which makes the top edge of the cuff curl outwards, and am officially in love with the hourglass heel. On this example I’ve tried it in garter stitch; and, although it makes it shallower than a stockinette one, it looks a lot better with the ribbing.

I’m most of the way through the foot and then will attempt a garter stitch round toe. Wish me luck!

I am finding this designing as I go rather exhilerating!


Leave a Reply

