h1

Present in the post and in person!

January 16, 2009

I do like it when I get presents in the post and even better when I get them in person, especially at the moment when I am fighting yet another lurgy! – I know, I know…my immune system seems to have to gone on a winter break to mongolia.

L’s mum M has been in York this week (sneaking off to texere without us!) and she bought me some of her stash – she’s so nice to me! We met up for a couple of hours at L’s, yesterday and spend a couple of hours snarking at Hornblower (really not sure about Greg Wise as a frenchman…..Lucky Emma Thompson is all I have to say!) and knitting and drinking tea.

She gave me 5 balls of lovely navy blue  country style dk – which will either be mitts for the boy or some hexagons;

dscf3332

and 6 and a bit balls of Bonus Aran in gorgeous high summer sky blue (although it says its denim blue)  – you know, between her and L they seem determined to inject colour into my world 😉

dscf3333

This morning with a stock delivery from my mum I found this amazing little 1923 knitting booklet!

dscf3329

“The Patons Universal Knitting Book”.

Its got patterns for everything from childs clothing, to shawls, to vests, mens and womens jumpers, socks and stockings and even teacosies! What fun! This is the photo of the sock patterns photo page.

(Plain stocking, Ribbed Stocking, Ribbed Stocking for a child, Stocking with turn over tops, Ribbed socks, Openwork Socks, Striped Socks, More openwork socks, Men’s Golf Stockings, Men’s Striped socks, Men’s Heavy socks, Men’s Ribbed socks, Men’s Light socks, and 3 fancy tops for stockings…And breathe!)

dscf3330

Now, I just have to decide a) if I can allow myself to start another project and b) which one of this treasure trove I want to start with!

One comment

  1. Thank you for your comment on my pinball on Ravelry.
    What a great knitting book you found!



Leave a Reply

