h1

Dolls ,from the beginning….

December 12, 2008

I’ve started work on Rachel Raggs, but she is feeling a little camera shy at the moment mainly due to not having more than a wadding wrapped wire armature for a body and some hands as I’m yet to make a head I like, so I thought I would share with you the very first dolls I made.

The first dolls I made were Dotee Dolls. Dot has a wonderful blog (She is Queen of the mini art doll) and sells kits for her ‘Dotee Dolls’ on Etsy. The tutorial is sadly no longer available but the kits aren’t that expensive and great fun.

I made two of these, oh, last year I think it was:

dscf3175

As you can see, I made a mini one as well as a normalish sized one. Both were made in cotton and felt, embroidered with cotton embroidery threads and have hair made of yarn.

After that I made what I call a Palm Doll, in that it fits comfortably into the palm of a hand. I’ve only made one of these so far but I have a sketchbook of ideas for more.

dscf3172

Its made of rough silk and wool felt,embroidered with cotton perle and uses one of the beaded fimo faces I make.

Late last year, in the run up to xmas, and as I was making a lot of felt decorations at the time, I made these little Steiner dolls ( I call the Pocket Steiner dolls)  using sooz’s wonderful tutorial.

dscf3167

I was kindly given two of Patti Medaris Culea’s books, Creative Cloth Doll Making and Creative Cloth Doll Couture.

I attempted the patterns in these several times but they are a little advanced for me. The wire armature I’ve made so far for Rachel Raggs I’ve found enjoyable and am feeling confident that it will work…once I cracked how to make the head.

I’ve already been rooting through my yarn stash looking for suitable colours for her skirt,jumper and stockings 🙂

Finally I want to show you one of the peg dolls my Grandmother made. She ran a toy museum for many years in Dedham, Essex. Its a clothes peg on a wooden stand, with pipe cleaner arms clothed in velvet, and cotton with braid and embroidery floss hair.

dscf3173Isn’t she pretty?

3 comments

  1. IT’S THE SMURF TAMPON !

    I really like how the Palm Doll looks, btw. 🙂


    • I knew it! I knew you were going to say that 😛

      They are fun aren’t they. It just seemed the right sort of shape for some reason.


  2. Lovely jo, i realy love the little be-hatted dolls they are too cute as are the Dottee’s. Glad to have fond you again. Love carol T



Leave a Reply

