h1

All Showed Out.

November 23, 2008

Well, I’ve finally stopped being tired and its Sunday and my feet still hurt from Thursday and I was wearing the most comfortable and supporting shoes I own! The housework is done and I can sit down and actually collect my thoughts about the knitting and stitching show.

I had a wonderful time, saw some amazing exhibits and there were SO many stands that it was a little overwhelming.

Stands I particularly enjoyed were:

Alpaca Select who had lots of gorgeous alpaca yarns and some amazingly soft alpaca teddy bears and llamas. We spent a lot of time discussing the reasons why we needed alpacas of our own.

Biggan Design Merino Yarn who do merino DK in the most amazing bright colours, I got a sample card and can’t stop looking at the colours they are so warm and positive looking.

Black Hills Wools who sell New Zealand wool in its natural colours with some further blends of those colours to produce new shades. It was lovely!

Deco-Blue Designs who sell knits and accessories made from denim and reclaimed notions where I got this amazing vintage craft pattern:

dscf3127Its for felt flower accessories and has patterns for sweet peas, gardenias, dog roses, and my favourite flower, anemones. Photos of what I make soon!

A stand I think was Judith Mansfield Books where I got some gorgeous little reels of Button Hole Twist on wooden reels for my collection (I collect wooden reels, you see with or without thread on them still). I wish I’d bought more but the budget wouldn’t allow it.

dscf3123

The Spellbound Bead Company had some amazing kits for making beaded necklaces and lots of over things with beads.

Jan Horrox – a British cloth doll maker had a stand and I got one of her doll patterns called Rachel Raggs who is a mixture of knitting and cloth and as soon as I’ve got supplies am going to give it a go:

rachel

Web of Wool is one of my favourite on line shops and the stand didn’t disappoint! As usual they had their wonderful range of sock yarns and I was good and resisted as I was saving my pennies for my favourite stand.

My favourite stand of the show was Habu Textiles.  Habu is simply amazing. I could have spent hours there, just looking at all the different yarns, and seeing the different fibres there. I surrendered to the beautiful textiles and got 3 skeins of Sumi Cotton Tegarasuri a-145 10/2 lace weight – colourway wine:

dscf3137-1

And some Silk Stainless Steel in silver – its a lace weight yarn with a stainless steel core covered in silk:

dscf3133-1

I’ve started knitting the cotton up into some lace edging and its knitting up beautifully. Photos soon!

From a stand I can’t remember the name of, I bought some Lang 1.5mm DPN’s to work the Habu cotton on.

And from another stand I can’t remember the name of – and its bugging me like anything – I got some Noro Silk Mountain; in fact a small mountain of Silk Mountain! :

dscf3121-1

I mainly can’t remember because I was having the vapours from actually holding 10 balls of Noro but we’ll gloss over that, shall we?!

Now, I just need some 12.75mm needles to knit it up into a loose knit jumper. Where on earth will I find needles that size?!

The show was rather busy – especially with school groups – but not so packed as to make it impossible to walk, and the breath of the stands and exhibits was very interesting; even if there were a number of inappropriate stalls for beauty products and sweets etc., which didn’t seem to fit in.There was so much to see it was interesting, educational and very tiring.

I can recommend getting a show guide beforehand and marking the places you definetly want to get to (Lesley, you genius!) and taking a shopping list of things you actually need (Great suggestion, Tinks!).

All in all I had a wonderful day and I already planning to go again next year.

Right now, the temperature has dropped here again so I am going to go and make a hot chocolate and get warm again!

5 comments

  1. I’m dead jealous! After hearing about Lesley’s purchases on Monday evening and yours today I can hardly breathe with jealousy. So glad you had such a good time and no panics. The planning helped I’m sure and you got to meet the Futon Co team too….what a day.

    Love for now
    Margaret


  2. You either got your Noro from Black Sheep or from Designer Knitting Yarns, probably the latter. They have really moved on since we saw them at Exeter.


  3. I think it was from Knit’n’Caboodle. I don’t think I visited those stands.


  4. Did you ever make the felt brooches? I’d love a scan of that pattern book!


    • Its stored away at the moment, but when I can get to it, I’ll see what I can do!



Leave a Reply

