h1

Sharing the pretties

November 19, 2008

Morning.

For the first time in weeks I am up in the morning! I have some hot chocolate – I wanted coffee but no caffiene till my meds are into my system – and am settling down in front of the computer to share some more photos of things I’ve been making 🙂

Yesterday, I went to see L and we planned out little adventure to the Knitting and Stitching Show tomorrow. We went through the guide and marked all the booths/stalls we really want to see,and looked a few of them up online and I am feeling somewhat less terrified about it now. I had been rather thrown on Monday when I realised that the show is this week rather than next week, but after one nearly sleepless night, I had a good talk with a couple of people and am now feeling less nervous about it all.

Instead of knitting frantically all day and night today to finish the clapotis, I’ve decided I’m going to finish a different project to wear and aim to finish my clapotis for xmas.

I’m planning to finish off a simple side project I’ve been working on:

When I was in Cornwall a couple of months ago, my lovely friend Sue gave me a cone of purple yarn.

dscf3116

Its a lovely shade of purple, its slightly darker and richer than it photographed.

I’ve made a snood and 3/4 of a pair of fingerless mitts out of it so far:

dscf3115

dscf31141

I’ll try and get some photos of me wearing them tomorrow – because I will have finished the second glove by the time we get on the train in the morning!

I finished my Socktoberfest project; Autumn Leaves Socks in November I’m afraid, but I finished them!

dscf3112I used the Picot Eyelet Socks pattern from Black Dog Designs but adapted the heel and shortened the cuff to suit my ankle. I knit the cuff on 3mm needles to allow for my shapely ankles and then shifted down to 2.5mm needles for the heel, foot and toe. I used some gorgeous Trekking XXL yarn and just feel that these socks are just so autumnal, which is probably my favourite season.

I love love love the eyelet and ribbon look. Its so girly! I’m not incredibly girly but I think this is about the level of it I can manage. I threaded some 4mm rust coloured silk ribbon through the eyelets. I am also a fan of picot edging. Its such a lovely look and is so comfortable!

Using some of the remaining Trekking XXL I made this little rosemary sachet using a Jean Greenhowe pattern from Bazaar Knits called Fragrant Finery.

dscf3111Its designed for DK yarn but I used sock yarn on 2.5mm needles and it came out a really nice size and I’m really happy with it.

Not a huge turnout of work but enough to keep me happy 🙂

I have work to do today which I better get on with. My ebay shop didn’t work out so I’m now working with my mum with her ebay shop and hopefully that will work out well.

I’ll be back at the end of the week with my little report on the Knitting and Stitching Show! So excited!Better write a list of things I want to look out for!

Leave a Reply

