h1

Oh my, where did October go?

November 18, 2008

Unfortunately I have been sick for a MONTH!

I came down with flu, the proper ‘oh dear god, I think I’m dying’ kind, and then I just started feeling better and came down with a virus that mainly made me even more tired and my sinuses immensely painful so I have been hiding away from the internets, and for the main part didn’t even feel like knitting *shock horror*

illinbed

I have been virtually living on the sofa with a duvet (I try not to stay in bed unless sleeping as I get easily depressed that way) and watching tv. I have to admit to becoming addicted to one US drama “Gilmore Girls” – in all its dsyfunctional kooky family wonderfulness and watching a lot of west wing, and working through various films, and old tv series when I wasn’t napping or feeling miserable.

Gilmore Girls has now become my afternoon break viewing. I make a cup of tea and a snack and curl up and watch. I don’t even knit – thats for knitting times. This is pure me time.

And some knitting has been happening.

Several weeks ago, when discussing with L that I wanted to go to the Knitting and Stitching Show at Harrogate, but I just wasn’t sure I could deal with crowds of that size, and that I would try to go next year, but she suggested going early in the day and planning it out first with a showguide, and once I agreed she bought the tickets so I couldn’t change my mind! We go in a couple of days time  and as part of my being brave I realised I wanted something knitted to wear to it.

Why being brave? Because I have problems relating to anxiety levels and large places with large crowds tend to affect me badly, its like that feeling you get if you try and go shopping on Christmas Eve, and I get it in all sorts of places. Well, its on the only situation I have problems in but its one of the major ones.

Anyway, as I want something knitted to wear to the K&SS, between L’s influence and Brenda Dayne’s, I started a clapotis using some balls of yarn my mum scored me on ebay.

They were 16ish little 25g balls of completly discontinued Sirdar Country Style Fair Isle Effect yarn.

Now, its two days from the day we are going to the show and its not finished so I shall be knitting like crazy till the late hours of wednesday night!

dscf3106

Its come on a little since I took this picture but you can see how the colours are developing, and I promise to let you know if I manage to finish it in time! Oh my, that weaving ends in is going to take a while.

I have more knitting to show you but I shall have to write about those another time, as I need to go and make a cup of tea and knit like a maniac!

4 comments

  1. The colours are developing nicely! Looking forward to seeing it finished.


  2. Thankyou! I’m not sure I’ll finish it by thursday but heres hoping!


  3. Wow, that Clapotis is looking good! I’m also hoping to have mine finished. It looks a lot like yours completeness wise (well, maybe – I’m over half way, probably two thirds… if I’m generous) BUT mine is in sock weight, 4ply. Tut. But I gather you’re probably off on Thursday am, and I’m going on the Friday. I do have Thursday off work too, so I’ll be able to spend pretty much the whole day knitting!!
    Hope you have fun, see you Tuesday all being well. (including you)


  4. I’ve decided trying to finish it by thursday may cause me to crack up so I’m going with getting it done for xmas. Will work on it on tuesday. Am finishing my purple gloves to wear this week instead.
    I am indeed off to harrogate on Thursday, and I am looking forward to it SO much!
    I am much better and will definetly be there on tuesday!



Leave a Reply

